Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Dinner with HelloFresh

Imagine me loading up a 91 year old woman and a 9 month old baby to take a trip to the grocery store because that is what literally happens every other week. Sometimes I make a list, sometimes I don't, it is what it is. One of two things happen, I either forget an ingredient and I absolutely will not reload everyone back up for just one or two items, or I overbuy because why don't they sell fresh cilantro in sticks?? Like I do not need the whole thing, I need maybe a handful of leaves but that is it and I am done. I have even tried growing my own cilantro (remember my garden box? Yeah nothing survived).

That is where HelloFresh comes in, they provide you with all fresh ingredients AND they plan the recipes. That Pinterest board that you and I have overflowing of recipes we have never tried, yeah well now you can try new recipes without worrying about finding one and than having to shop for the ingredients.

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Bedtime Routine with DockATot

Once upon a time, there was a baby who did not like her mother to sleep. She needed to be near her mother and felt the need to wake up every one to two hours to ensure her mother was near. This little baby was my daughter, Sophia.

There was a time when she did sleep and only woke up twice to nurse in the middle of the night but after our vacation, time change, sickness and a new tooth, Sophia decided to act like a newborn again. When she was a new born I coveted the DockATot but I honestly didn't feel comfortable spending the money not knowing if it really worked or not.

However, this momma was desperate for sleep when Sophia's sleep regression stepped in. DockATot did provide me with my DockATot Grand but I am really kicking myself for not using all those Visa giftcards in the beginning to start off with the DockATot Deluxe. I think it would have saved myself many nights of sleep lost.


For the past month, we have been doing the same nighttime routine almost every night and Sophia sleeps approximately five hours before waking for her first nighttime feeding.

Side Note: I have always purposely not followed our routine at least once a week because I do not want Sophia to become too dependent on routine to the point that she cannot fall asleep otherwise so we shake up the routine at least once a week.

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Book Review | The Thinking Woman's Guide to a Better Birth

Hey guys! How was your Memorial Day weekend? I hope yall didn't miss me too much (or maybe I do) with my odd blog post schedule last week and taking the three day weekend off to enjoy with my little family. We were a little busy enjoying dinner Friday night with our besties, clothing/gaming thrifting on Saturday (but had no luck), surprise visit to the in-laws on Sunday since they couldn't make it to us due to back road flooding (they're country folk and don't do freeways) and lastly taking Little Love to the Downtown Houston Aquarium on Memorial Day. Although it was mostly for our enjoyment, there were a few moments where she just stared and followed the little fishies swim around in their tanks. And lets not talk about how the white tiger jumped on the glass wall and growled right in front of someone's face.

Now about today's post, after doing a book review last week on The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding, I decided to do a more thorough book review on The Thinking Woman's Guide to a Better Birth. If you been around you will remember me briefly discussing this book as one of my pregnancy must haves.

Monday, May 23, 2016

Book Review | The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding

Hey everybody! How was ya'lls weekend? Anything new or exciting? We decided to surprise Anthony's parents with a visit and I finally finished up one of the books I have been reading which brings us to today's post, a book to review. 

Now I don't know when I made the decision to breastfeed but whenever I did, I knew I wanted to give it all I had to be successful. I heard from multiple people about how hard and challenging and uncomfortable (even painful) it could be so I began researching and researching once I found out we were pregnant. I was so terrified of not being able to produce enough milk (which is a common misconception of breastfeeding as only 2% of women in the ENTIRE WORLD actually cannot produce enough milk, if you are struggling with breastfeeding, it is highly suggested you seek help from a LICENSED lactation consultant as they can troubleshoot what is really going on) or being uncomfortable. Honestly, it wasn't that hard or as bad as everyone kept making it seem. Yes, the first few days were a struggle waiting for my milk to come in and having to supplement because Little Love had low blood sugar those first few days but more so emotionally because of that fear of not being able to produce enough for her BUT once my milk came in, everything else just came naturally. 

Saturday, March 9, 2013

A Movie in Review: Oz the Great and Powerful





A small-time magician arrives 
in an enchanted land 
and is forced to decide 
if he will be a good man 
or a great one.


I LOVE The Wizard of Oz so naturally when I heard about this movie I knew I had to see it. However, I thought the movie would be shown from the perspective from Oz, I had no idea it was a prequel! Which is perfectly fine to me, I enjoyed this movie very much. There were no sex or nudity scenes although there were some cleavage shown and two kissing scenes. The only profanity I heard was the "d" word used once. I would have caution taking young children to see this movie as it can be frightening with the wicked witches and flying creatures with the noises they make.

Here is a trailer for Oz the Great and Powerful:

Saturday, March 2, 2013

A Movie in Review: A Good Day to Die Hard




John McClane travels to Russia 
to help out his seemingly wayward son, Jack, 
only to discover that Jack is a CIA operative working 
to prevent a nuclear-weapons heist, 
causing the father and son to team up 
against underworld forces.


My husband and I have seen all the Die Hard movies. We LOVE action movies. So when another Die Hard movie came out we planned to watch it. Compared to the other four "Die Hard" movies, there was not as much cursing in this one however it was still quite a bit for us. The action was okay in this movie and the plot was not as good as the other "Die Hard" movies. I would suggest waiting until this one comes out on Netflix, it's not worth the $20 to watch in a movie theater. The movie is also not suitable for children. Adults should have caution as well with the profanity.

Here is a trailer:

Saturday, February 23, 2013

A Movie in Review: Snitch


A father goes undercover for the DEA 
in order to free his son who was imprisoned 
after being set up in drug deal.


I am a huge Rock fan, I always have been since my grandmother first introduced me to the than WWF. When I heard the Rock was in a movie, I immediately told my husband I wanted to watch it. I didn't need to see a trailer. While I enjoyed the story line, there was far too much vulgar language. God's name was taken in vain at least 6 or 7 times. And multitude of profane words were said as well. It was hard not to wince as each curse word came flying. The closet thing to sex or nudity was mild kisses and an implication of rape. The plot of the movie is about the drug cartel, one scene is shown with a man doing cocaine as a means to prove himself. There is also a lot of uses of guns and killing. This movie is in no way appropriate for children, heck I could barely stand it to be appropriate for me on the language alone!

Here is a trailer from the movie:



Monday, February 18, 2013

A Movie in Review: Escape from Planet Earth


Astronaut Scorch Supernova finds himself
caught in a trap when he responds to an SOS
from a notoriously dangerous alien planet.


When I first heard of this movie, my husband asked me if I wanted to see it. Looking at the poster made it look boring enough (at least to me) without ever seeing a trailer.

While I was babysitting a 6 year old, he asked if we can go see this movie. I didn't really want to but if it kept him content for about an hour in a half than so be it. We watched the movie in 3D, which to be honest was not needed. The movie had a lot of cute jokes however I doubt many kids would understand them. I barely understand what Area 51 is, do kids?
However, I did really enjoy the movie and would recommend it as a family outing.

Here is a trailer:


Saturday, February 2, 2013

Date Night: A Movie in Review



In this spin on the fairy tale,
Hansel & Gretel are now bounty hunters
who track and kill witches all over the world.
As the fabled Blood Moon approaches,
the siblings encounter a new form of evil
that might hold a secret to their past.
Earlier this week, my husband saw a trailer on the television to Hansel & Gretel and told me we should go see it. "Sure," I responded without much thought to what he just said, sadly. Today, I was thinking how long it has been since we have gone on a date. We use to do date night weekly and when money was tight, we watched movies at home or played the Wii as a date night. So date night was pretty frequently, sometimes twice a week with a random dinner date night thrown in the middle of the week. However, I can not remember the last day night we have had. I decided after we had dinner with my grandmother tonight, my husband and I should go on a movie date night. I asked him if he still wanted to see Hansel & Gretel, which he did. I searched a movie time at the closest movie theatre and found one at 9:20pm. Once, we bought the tickets I realized the movie was rated R and asked my husband if he realized that or not (we try to stay away from rated R movies) and he said no, he didn't. The thing that caught his attention of the movie was the action. We talked and decided we would still watch the movie but would be cautious to possible nudity scenes.
The movie was overall a great action movie. Within the first five minutes, the f bomb was already dropped, however. My husband and I looked at each other wondering if we should even stay. We decided we would if the movie did not go over board on using vulgar language. I believe overall, I counted four f bombs and that was it. One scene I found appealing to sexual perversion was when a young man was cleaning Gretel's face of dirt and soon after looked at her breast (they were not exposed fully, only cleavage) and began wiping down her breast from dirt for a few seconds before she woke up to ask what he was doing. There was also one nudity scene that the movie could have done without. While in the healing pond, a woman begins taking off her dress slowly (at least this scene gave notice of what was to happen) and her bottom was exposed and shortly after entering the water she turned and her breast was exposed as well. The scene was short but unnecessary. Other than these few things, the movie is a great movie for adults. If I had children, I would not take them to see this movie even if it's based off a child's tale due to the above comments and for the gruesome fighting scenes as well.
I attached a trailer below for your convenience:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...